On Truth

Hello everyone, I will be keeping today’s post fairly short.

I want everyone to ponder this quote, by the English author George Orwell:

In a time of universal deceit, telling the truth is a revolutionary act

You are told by the people situated in the upper echelons of society that what they say is the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth. But how do you know that their knowledge and message is accurate and not in any way deceitful? Are you just going to go by blind faith and believe them? For those of you readers that are still stuck in the trance of their message, just take a second out of your day and think. Think about what they say. Educate yourself about their opinion, as well as the completely opposite stance. Compare the two and get a more objective answer about the situation. Just because you’re told that some thought is utterly insane and everyone else has the same feeling regarding the idea, it doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t question it to be absolutely sure yourself.

Sheeple

Don’t just have blind faith, my friends.

2 responses to “On Truth

  1. I see your point, however it’s basically impossible to gather news all by yourself. We don’t have time to go to other countries or even other cities and look for ourselves to see what’s going on. You have to either trust some outside source or remain ignorant. Some people pick sources that reinforce their own preconceptions. My preference is to look at a wide variety of sources. I think it helps me weed out the more obvious biases in reportage.

  2. I completely agree. However, the majority of the populace will just stick to popular ones like CNN, Fox News, or MSNBC, mainly because their message is tailored to them. I prefer to gather my news from CNN, Fox, the Dailypaul, and the Drudge Report, just to name a few.

    However, what kills me is the inability for some to think about what they’re actually being told. I have even had a teacher before comment on a paper, which I wrote about gun control and the 2nd amendment, with, “This statement is false, that is not what MSNBC said about the issue.”, even though I had done days of research on the topic from a variety of sources. I wish more people were like you and myself, and gathered information from a plethora of sources.

Leave a Reply

